Robert A. Heinlein Books in Order (56 Books)

Robert Anson Heinlein was a renowned science fiction author, born in Missouri in 1907. He graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy in 1929, but had to retire due to illness in 1934. Heinlein then moved to California and worked various jobs while studying mathematics and physics at the University of California. In 1939, he sold his first science fiction story to Astounding magazine and devoted himself to the genre. Heinlein won the Hugo Award four times for his novels Stranger in a Strange Land (1961), Starship Troopers (1959), Double Star (1956), and The Moon is a Harsh Mistress (1966). His Future History series, which included short stories and novels, was first mapped out in 1941. It explored the social, political, and technological changes that shape human society from the present to centuries into the future. Robert A. Heinlein's books were some of the first science fiction works to become bestsellers in both hardcover and paperback. He continued to write into his eighties, and his work was always captivating, entertaining, and controversial. When he passed away in 1988, it was clear that he was one of the most influential figures in science fiction, with his unique vision, energy, and dedication over five decades making a lasting impact on the American public.
Put Away
Show More

FAQ for Robert A. Heinlein Books

People Also Viewed